Sledgehammer To The Stereotype

I logged into Facebook tonight to find that in one of my groups they were having a ‘Do I look gay?’ competition.  I laughed, as you might expect I would.  But, in truth, it inspired me to take to my blog again.  No more so than when a Portia de Rossi quote was shared: “Everyone is their own kind of lesbian. To think there’s a certain way to dress or present yourself in the world is just one more stereotype we have to fit into.”

In truth, for many years now, I have courted the blurred lines between masculine and feminine and butch and femme.  I have had enough time now to find a style that suits me and that I am comfortable in.  How I chose to portray myself certainly changed a lot in my early twenties and this is in no small part due to the fact that, for my final year of my degree, I got to live independently and away from home.  Technically, I’d crossed the border into another country.

It was at the age of twenty-five that I felt truly comfortable in my own skin for the first time.  I was no longer caring how other’s perceived me, and on occasion, I will even go out of my way to evoke a response.  I will no longer apologise for who I am or what I stand for.

I tried being the feminine type, but no matter how much it was desired of me, it just wasn’t me.  Dresses only serve to irritate me.  They have no practical purpose.  Make-up, well quite frankly I usually can’t be arsed.  When I am of a mind to do it, it’s usually because I have to put on a good, professional, front.  Amusing as hell when that is twinned with a shaved head.

2 thoughts on “Sledgehammer To The Stereotype

Leave a Reply

